Using NoMAD on your Macbook

  Print

What is NoMAD?

NoMAD is a tool that allows users to sign into their Active Directory account (your @ringwoodsc.vic.edu.au user) and utlize it, including directory mapping and password changes. It also has additional functionality allowing locking your machine, opening up the Managed Software Center, and getting in direct contact with ITSG.

How do I use it?

NoMAD will automatically deploy to your computer next time you run a software update. You should see this icon icon-tick.png running in your taskbar. If not, try running it from /Applications/NoMAD.app.

There are two possible states for NoMAD to be in post deployment. If you're connected to the school network and have connected to a network share already, you'll find the triangular icon has a green tick in it icon-tick.png or no tick icon-empty.png.

If it has a tick in it, you're good to go! You can click on the icon and see the full menu of options

full-menu.png

If you have no tick, simply click on the icon and pick the "Sign In" option:
sign-in.png

From here, enter your username (generally your TO or the first letter of your first name followed by your full surname, e.g. 08123456 or jsmith) and your @ringwoodsc.vic.edu.au password.
username-password.png

If your computer password and your RSC password are not in sync, you'll be prompted to type in your computer password at this point. This will change your computer password to match your RSC password, syncing them up. This is a necessary step to allow many functions, the most important one being your professional folder being synchronised to the server.
sync-password.png

Menu options

The RSC implementation of NoMAD has the following menu options:

Change password

This option allows you to change your RSC password. This affects your login into other school devices, login to your @ringwoodsc.vic.edu.au email address, and connection to the school wireless network. This will also automatically sync your computer password to match. This does not affect your eduMail password or any DET services. This will also not updated your Outlook or wireless password; Next time you connect to the wireless or open Outlook you'll be prompted to enter the new password you entered.

When changing your password, you may be prompted with the following screen asking if you will allow "security" to access your keychain. If this pops up immediately after your password change, this is safe to "Always Allow" and is necessary to ensure your professional folder continues to sync.
security-prompt.png

Sign Out

This option lets you sign out of your Active Directory (RSC) account, allowing you to sign in with a different account, or renew your login session. This does not log you out of your computer, and generally shouldn't be used unless advised by ITSG, as it will stop notifications from advising you of your password expiring, as well as disconnecting any sessions you have to school file or print servers.

Lock Screen

This useful option allows you to lock the screen, putting up a password prompt to anyone who wishes to use the computer. As staff, you have access to many private student records, emails and files that others around you (other staff, students) may not be privileged to. It is your responsibility to secure your access to this information, and locking the screen is one of the simplest methods of doing so.

Please note, the lock takes 5 seconds after clicking to start - if someone moves the mouse or hits a key within 5 seconds, the machine stays unlocked.

Get Software

This option will open up the Managed Software Center, allowing you to install new software and get critical updates for the computer.

Get Help

This is a shortcut to open up Outlook and draft a new email to ITSG ([email protected]), allowing you to contact us faster!

Troubleshooting

Keychain issues post login

On some machines that use Active Directly native in macOS (such as the library iMacs), you may have logged onto them in the past, causing a keychain to be created and locked under your password at the time.

This can cause the following message to come up:
keychain-prompt.jpg

In this scenario, click "Update Keychain Password". You will be prompted for your old password, to unlock the keychain on the machine. After this is successfully entered, Keychain will auto-update to your new password. If you have forgotten your old password you can hit "Create New Keychain", however be aware that any saved Keychain entries (certificates, passwords, etc) will be inaccessible.

I still need help!

Should you need help using these options please click here to book in a 1:1 session. You can also contact us via extension +144, email ([email protected]), or Skype for Business (same email)


Related Articles

Login

 
Forgot password?
Register now
or